Making the switch

After losing my car in a rear-end collision this past January, my wife and I have been sharing one car.  Other than the one free rental I redeemed at Enterprise (long story), we have used her Accord exclusively to carpool to work, run errands, and travel to visit her family in San Antonio.  It hasn’t always been easy, but we’ve managed far better than I anticipated.

This fall I will begin my Master’s program in Urban Planning at Texas A&M University.  Sharing a car will become much more difficult with the more erratic schedule of a full-time student.  Rather than buy a second car, however, I am attempting a feat that few Texans will ever do: commute by bike.

I look forward to seeing this side of city planning from real-life experience, not just through the things I’ve read.  I realize that pedestrian and bicycle infrastructure is poor in just about every American city, but I am hoping that by being in the trenches, so to speak, I will be better prepared to advocate for positive changes in this type of planning in the future.

For now, I’ve been bike shopping.  Here’s what I’ve got my eye on:

Jamis Citizen 1 in Sangria

It’s the Jamis Citizen 1.

Leave a Reply

